That old HL mod of mine…

• Creator
    Topic

Admer

https://www.moddb.com/mods/admerthegame

It’s a mess. At least it’ll stay so, until I revive it one day.

In 2015, I started working on my first (and only) Half-Life mod. I inconveniently called it Admer: The Game. Firstly, it wasn’t a game. It was a mod. Secondly, calling an entire mod after yourself is kinda self-centric. I eventually renamed it to An unknown game, which suited it a bit better. Still, it wasn’t a game. It was a mod. 😛

I canceled it around 2016 because of the following:

• I was an awful noob at programming.
      It was a time when I had just gotten into C++. My only prior programming experience in 2015 was QBasic. And even then it wasn’t much, although I was able to create a text game in QBasic. It was pretty fun.
      Essentially, I didn’t know about debugging, nor the basics of programming. My code wasn’t even mine – it was just pasted from tutorials I found on TWHL and Gamer-Lab RU. 70% of it wouldn’t compile, and 20% of what did compile ended up either not working in-game or crashing it.
    • I was losing motivation to work on the mod, because of the above. And as my mapping skills grew, I also started realising how terrible my mod’s maps were. I was too lazy to fix them or redo everything from scratch.
    • I was lazy. All my ideas were in my head, and I was too lazy to write them down. Fortunately, these ideas are still in my mind, just not in their original form. In fact, they’ve evolved for 3 years now.